University of Ljubljana

The University of Ljubljana (UL) is a HE institution with the longest tradition in Slovenia; with more than 56,000 under- and post-graduate students, it is among the biggest in Europe. A total of 22 faculties, 3 academies of art and 1 university college employ ca. 3500 teaching and research staff, assisted by ca. 900 technical and administrative staff. The Department of Translation was founded in 1997 when it became the only translation school in Europe with Slovene as language A. The quality of the programme, the staff and their research activity has been attested by various international organisations: in 2004 the Department of Translation became a member of CIUTI, in 2005 a member of the Consortium of European Masters in Conference Interpreting, and in 2009 a member of the EMT network. In 2016 after thorough evaluation its doctoral programme was accepted in the network of doctoral programmes in translation studies within the framework of EST (European Society of Translation Studies). Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology offers seven specialised programmes of study for (pre-Bologna) Master’s degrees (research masters in Ethnology of Slovenes, Ethnology of Non-European Countries, Ethnological Museology, Ethnological Conservation, Cultural Anthropology, Folklore, Comparative Mythology) and doctoral studies in ethnology and cultural anthropology. The department also participates in the joint master programme Creole: Cultural Differences and Transnational Processes.

Leave a Comment